Annual Business Meeting

Dear ENY/ACRL Members,


Our business meeting for the membership is normally held during the Annual Conference. Since we made the difficult decision to cancel the Annual Conference this year, we will hold the meeting virtually on May 20, 2020 from 10:30 to 11:00 a.m.


Please register for the business meeting using this RSVP form   Instructions for virtual attendance will be sent to registrants.  We hope you can attend.  Click here for the meeting agenda.


Thank you,


Mary K. Van Ullen

Director of Collections

University Libraries

2020 Board Elections and Candidate Information

The following candidates are running for open positions on the ENY/ACRL Board. Ballots will be sent by email to all eligible members (i.e. current as of December 31, 2019). You will receive one email. Voting will be open through March 31, 2020.

Information about each candidate follows. Please join the Board in thanking all of them for their support of the organization.

If you have questions about the voting process, please contact Debbie Krahmer

Thank you for voting!

Read the rest of this entry »

Call for Proposals ENY/ACRL Spring Conference 2020

UPDATE: Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this event has been cancelled.

The Eastern New York Chapter of ACRL (ENY/ACRL) is pleased to invite presenters to submit proposals for the upcoming 2020 Spring Conference “2020 Vision for the future: Open and Accessible.” There will be three different session formats for which interested persons may submit proposals: poster sessions, lightning rounds, and breakout sessions. Please see the information below for each session format.

Poster Sessions
Poster sessions are an excellent opportunity to share your ideas, research findings, projects, solutions to problems, or best practices. Posters will be on display throughout the day and presenters should be available to discuss their topics during two thirty-minute time slots.

Lightning Rounds
Presentations for the lightning round are limited to 5 minutes. There will be time for a general question and answer period after all presenters have finished. Topics should connect with the conference theme.

Breakout Sessions
In addition to lightning rounds and poster sessions, this year we are also offering ENY/ACRL members a chance to submit proposals to lead breakout sessions. Breakout session proposals should cover 45 minutes, can include 1-3 presenters, and should incorporate a combination of introduction/presentation and the facilitation of an interactive group discussion. Topics should address an aspect of the conference theme.

Submission Guidelines:
Please use the following link to submit your proposal:
If you have questions on any of the sessions, please contact the following people:
Sarah Rhodes –
Jean-Paul Orgeron –

Deadline for all proposals is March 20th, 2020. Proposals received after this date may be considered if there is still space available for participation. Presenters will be notified of acceptance by April 3rd, 2020.

Get Involved! Treasurer position

Have you been looking for a good way to get involved with ENY/ACRL? We’ll be posting about the various positions that are coming open this Spring.

The Treasurer position is an important one. You handle the money for the organization. It can be demanding, requiring someone who is very organized and self-motivating–a perfect position for a librarian! More information below.

Read the rest of this entry »

Get Involved! Membership Chair

Have you been looking for a good way to get involved with ENY/ACRL? We’ll be posting about the various positions that are coming open this Spring.

The Membership Chair is most busy during the renewal season (August-December), but overall your time commitment is fairly light compared to other positions. Almost all the board meetings are virtual, and you can submit your reports ahead of time if you’re unable to attend. Your focus will be on maintaining the database of members. More information below!

Read the rest of this entry »